top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWaxing Nostalgic

Takes Me Over


My friends call me Mel's latest release "Takes Me Over" is a relatable, cathartic indie pop jam. Delving into the small details of a relationship, the new track explores how we hold onto the last details of a breakup and the process of reliving those moments on repeat.


The production on this track is incredibly clean and catchy, capable of capturing any listener's attention from the first few seconds. It feels reminiscent of capital cities or miniature tigers -- perfect for those indie movie montage moments. Lyrically, my friends call me Mel doesn't overcomplicate the story, sticking to straightforward storytelling that is effective as well as resonant. Her use of syncopation with the text is compelling and makes the writing stand out. In the wrong hands, it could have seemed cheesy or inauthentic but my friends call me Mel has a talent for making simple phrases have depth and sophistication when put to music. In terms of vocals, the tone emits a warmth and comfort, creating exciting juxtaposition to the distant and cold nature of a breakup. All in all, "Takes Me Over" checks all the boxes when it comes to great indie pop: a steady groove, relatable emotional content, and stellar musicianship.


Check out "Takes Me Over" by my friends call me Mel as of today on Spotify and Apple Music. It's a perfect pairing for that crisp fall air and these dark, early winter days.


Keep Up with my friends call me Mel:


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

City

bottom of page